Return Home

House Passes No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act

5-4-11 Posted by admin in Abortion 1 Comments

Today, the House of Representatives passed H.R. 3, the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act by a vote of 251-175. The No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act was re-introduced this Congress by Rep. Chris Smith (R, NJ-04) and Rep. Dan Lipinski (D, IL-03).

Pro-life policies that would be made permanent under the legislation include:

  • Hyde amendment (related to programs funded through the annual Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) appropriations)
  • Helms amendment (concerning overseas programs)
  • Smith FEHBP amendment (concerning coverage for federal employees)
  • Dornan amendment (regarding funding in Washington DC)
  • Other policies governing programs such as the Peace Corp and federal prisons.
  • Codifies the conscience clause known as Hyde-Weldon.

“The House of Representatives has once again stood for the sanctity of life,” said Matt Smith, Vice President of Catholic Advocate upon passage of the bill. “Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D, NV) needs to start listening to the majority of Americans who oppose our tax dollars funding abortion. It is time for the Senate to go on record for a consistent, government-wide approach to ending tax-payer funded abortion.”

Visit the Catholic Advocate Action Center to IMMEDIATELY send a letter to your Senator encouraging them to support the “No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act.”

Vote breakdown for H.R. 3, the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act – Thursday, May 4, 2011:

251 Members voted for H.R. 3 – 235 Republicans and 16 Democrats.  The 16 Democrats voting “yes” were Rep. Jason Altmire (D, PA-04), Rep. Dan Boren (D, OK-02), Rep. Jerry Costello (D, IL-12), Rep. Mark Critz (D, PA-12), Rep. Henry Cuellar (D, TX-28), Rep. Joe Donnelly (D, IN-02), Rep. Tim Holden (D, PA-17), Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D, OH-09), Rep. Dale Kildee (D, MI-05), Rep. Dan Lipinski (D, IL-03), Rep. Jim Matheson (D, UT-02), Rep. Mike McIntyre (D, NC-02), Rep. Colin Peterson (D, MN-07), Rep. Nick Rahall (D, WV-03), Rep. Mike Ross (D, AR-04), and Rep. Heath Shuler (D, NC-11).

Of the above Democrats, the following eight are Catholic – Altmire, Costello, Cuellar, Donnelly, Holden, Kaptur, Kildee, Lipinski.

175 Members voted against H.R. 3 – All 175 Members voting “no” were Democrats.  No Republicans voted “no.”

60 Republican Catholics voted for H.R. 3.

57 Democrat Catholics voted against H.R. 3.

7 Members did not vote –Members not voting were Bilbray, Bilirakis, Boehner, Emerson, Giffords, S. Johnson and Petri. 

Note: Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R, FL-09) had to fly home for a family funeral and deeply regrets missing the vote – he was a co-sponsor of the legislation. We do not have information about the reasons for other Members not voting, but all Republicans who did not vote are cosponsors of H.R. 3.

Also, the House Speaker rarely votes and Rep. Giffords has not yet returned to Washington. Speaker John Boehner did take to the floor and make a statement in support of this important pro-life legislation.

  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Google Buzz
  • RSS
  • Tumblr

One Response to House Passes No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act

  1. Travis R. says:

    I still cannot understand how Catholics can be Democrats but this vote says a lot, “57 Democrat Catholics voted against H.R. 3.” – maybe you can be a Democrat if you’re Catholic; if you’re only culturally Catholic or you’ve really ceased to be Catholic anymore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *